Lawful

Yesterday May 5th, we had another session of Family Worship straight after dinner.

Wife – This day was extra special as it was my first day of duty as Deacon in Church. It was a hectic day for me, as I opted to serve in both 0800 and 1045h service for offering collections. Why 0800? I was told there is severe shortage of manpower. Why 1045h too? I should not be out of action when other deacons are. Therefore I decided to go for both. Thank God for my supportive wife who woke up early and had breakfast with me together at home before dropping me off at Church around 0730h. It was a blistering hot morning.

Lunch – We had a welcome the church members who are newly baptized, transferred and also the session members. Left the church close to 2pm, then headed to the pool with Isaac for his swimming classes.

Family Worship – I was thinking of what to share with the children during family worship and the “all things are lawful to me, but …” verses came into mind which is found in 1 Cor 6:12 and 1 Cor 10:23. I decided to focus on the former.
KJV – All things are lawful unto me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.
NIV – “I have the right to do anything,” you say—but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything”—but I will not be mastered by anything.

We sang one Hymn “Yield Not to Temptation” which is dated to Ho­ra­tio R. Pal­mer, 1868.

Yield not to temptation, for yielding is sin;
Each victory will help you some other to win;
Fight manfully onward, dark passions subdue,
Look ever to Jesus, He’ll carry you through.

Refrain
Ask the Savior to help you,
Comfort, strengthen and keep you;
He is willing to aid you,
He will carry you through.

Shun evil companions, bad language disdain,
God’s Name hold in reverence, nor take it in vain;
Be thoughtful and earnest, kindhearted and true,
Look ever to Jesus, He’ll carry you through.

To him that o’ercometh, God giveth a crown;
Through faith we shall conquer, though often cast down;
He Who is our Savior our strength will renew;
Look ever to Jesus, He’ll carry you through.

Somehow the one verse and one hymn all came into play together and I sincerely thank God for putting these into mind.

~ by ymsim on 2014/05/05.

Leave a Reply

 
