Rock

Rock

http://www.biblestudytools.com/kjv/matthew/passage.aspx?q=matthew+16:18-19

I thought I wrote about this before, and added into my blog. But I could not find it, so here goes again!

Matthew 16:18-19
18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. 19 And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.

Key point here between Peter and the immediate rock that follows. In Greek, the Peter and rock are two distinctly different word.
Peter in greek refers to petros, which means a stone.
Rock that follows in greek is Petra, which means rock. A HUGE, INMOVEABLE, SOLID, INFALLIBLE rock.
When we read the text in the original tongue (greek), the difference becomes very obvious.

I think the following verse nicely support who is the rock Jesus was referring to:
1 Corinthians 10:4 – And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them : and that Rock was Christ.
Both rock used is Petra, which is the same word used above in “Peter and latter rock” case.

Now, I am not belittling Peter here. But between the “Rock of our Salvation” which is Jesus, and “Cephas, which is to mean a stone”.
(Thou art Simon the son of Jona: thou shalt be called Cephas, which is by interpretation, A stone. Jn 1:42)

If I may paraphrase to illustrate what it meant:
1. thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church
2. thou art the frying pan, and upon this stove I will cook my meal

Rock vs stone, tell me what is Jesus declaring here. By common reasoning, the foundation must be on Jesus Christ, not anyone else. The church must be built upon one who is infallible. And who is the infallible entity? As Jude puts it nicely, “Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.” Who is Jude referring to? I can’t think of anyone else since the immediate succeding word says “To the only wise God our Saviour”… Jesus.

Rock of our salvation, as recorded in Psalm 18:2 – The LORD [is] my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, [and] my high tower.

A similar case of word understanding confusion, the scenario where Jesus exchanged “you love, me… you know I love you.. etc found in last portion of John gospel, Jn 21:15-17.
“Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs. 16 He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my sheep. 17 He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep.”

Let’s see the loves above.
1. 1st time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee
2. 2nd time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee.
3. 3rd time, , Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee.

In greek, the word love have distinct differences:
1. Agape – which is the sacrificial love to the point of death
2. Phileo – which is a social, friendship kind of love

Let’s look into the original greek:
1. 1st time, Jesus ask Peter, you “Agape” me? Peter responded, Yes, I “Phileo” you.
2. 2nd time, Jesus ask Peter, you “Agape” me? Peter responded, Yes, I “Phileo” you.
3. 3rd time, Finally, Jesus used the same word as Peter if you “Phileo” me?
Which totally bring out Peter confession, that he phileo’d Jesus and do not dare bring to the point of Agape as before. Which when he boldy declared “he will never betray Jesus”, and immediately denied Christ 3 times before the cock crowed, which Jesus already for knew.

In summary, this is a case of greek vs the english language.
1. Petro vs Petras
2. Agappe vs Phileo

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. 2 Tim 2:15

2011/6/9
Greg Laurie devotion shared more, and I understood more of these verses.
http://www.harvest.org/r?id=2606

“Jesus was building the church on what Peter said. The church is built on Christ. As the apostle Paul said, “For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ” (1 Corinthians 3:11).”

~ by ymsim on 2011/04/12.

12 Responses to “Rock”

  1. Ephesians 2:20 (KJV)
    [20] And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone;

  2. http://www.trustingodamerica.com/Petra.htm

  3. John 2:19 (KJV)
    [19] Jesus answered and said unto them, Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.

    The pattern of speech sounds uncanningly similar here. Jesus using a 3rd party perspective. Here he points to the temple, which literally means himself as we understand.

  4. Peter said not to worship him. It’s sad how much he and the rest of the apostles are being worship. I wonder how they’ll response if still alive.

    Acts 10:25-26 (KJV)
    [25] And as Peter was coming in, Cornelius met him, and fell down at his feet, and worshipped him. [26] But Peter took him up, saying, Stand up; I myself also am a man.

  5. I’m still dwelling on this rock vs rock thingy. Came across this site which explains pretty well. http://www.thercg.org/questions/p184.a.html#c

    Deuteronomy 32:3-4; Deuteronomy 32:15; Deuteronomy 32:18; 1 Corinthians 10:4; Ephesians 2:20; 1 Peter 2:6; Ephesians 1:22; Ephesians 5:23; Colossians 1:18 (King James Version)

    Deuteronomy 32:3-4
    3Because I will publish the name of the LORD: ascribe ye greatness unto our God.
    4He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.

    Deuteronomy 32:15
    15But Jeshurun waxed fat, and kicked: thou art waxen fat, thou art grown thick, thou art covered with fatness; then he forsook God which made him, and lightly esteemed the Rock of his salvation.

    Deuteronomy 32:18
    18Of the Rock that begat thee thou art unmindful, and hast forgotten God that formed thee.

    1 Corinthians 10:4
    4And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.

    Ephesians 2:20
    20And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone;

    1 Peter 2:6
    6Wherefore also it is contained in the scripture, Behold, I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: and he that believeth on him shall not be confounded.

    Ephesians 1:22
    22And hath put all things under his feet, and gave him to be the head over all things to the church,

    Ephesians 5:23
    23For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church: and he is the saviour of the body.

    Colossians 1:18
    18And he is the head of the body, the church: who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead; that in all things he might have the preeminence.

  6. To cite only this specific verse, it does sounds it is referring to Peter. To put the whole bible into context, it does clearly points the Rock Petra to be referring to God himself.

  7. Psalm 127:1
    Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh [but] in vain.

  8. Amplified put it through rather clearly imho.
    It is referring to “already have been bound/loose”. So it’s not a new doctrine whatsoever.

    19I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; and whatever you bind (declare to be improper and unlawful) on earth [a]must be what is already bound in heaven; and whatever you loose (declare lawful) on earth [b]must be what is already loosed in heaven.(A)

    Footnotes:

    Matthew 16:19 Charles B. Williams, The New Testament: A Translation: “The perfect passive participle, here referring to a state of having been already forbidden [or permitted].”
    Matthew 16:19 Charles B. Williams, The New Testament: A Translation: “The perfect passive participle, here referring to a state of having been already forbidden [or permitted].”

  9. NIV puts through similarly too.

    New International Version, ©2011 (NIV)

    Listen to this passage
    View commentary related to this passage

    19 I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be[a] bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be[b] loosed in heaven.”

    Footnotes:

    Matthew 16:19 Or will have been
    Matthew 16:19 Or will have been

  10. By virtue of context and cruciality, this is almost like a sync device scenario. What ever is to be synced on earth must be in sync in heaven. The catch now comes, it does sounds like earth will take precedence over heaven in a sync? Or biblically, heaven should always take precedence? If the latter is the meaning, then the verse would like to have been understood as how NAS has translated.

    Matthew 16:19 NAS
    19* “I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; and whatever you bind on earth shall have been bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall have been loosed in heaven.”

    Interestingly, same verse here was repeated almost word for word by Jesus to other disciples!

    Matthew 18:18 “I tell you the truth, whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.

  11. Common sense applied too… will the disciples implement something new that is not of God? Everything that the disciples do would have been inspired by the Holy Spirit, as such will never be out of sync from heavenly Father.

  12. Can I bind something on earth that’s not bound in heaven? Can I let loose something that’s not in heaven?

    It appears that some felt certain religious leaders have that God given authority to bind things, anything! So if they say you are forgiven, you are and vice versa. Is this the authority of bind and loose that Jesus talks about here? The bible appears to dispute that.

    If Matt 16:19 18:18 by itself, it appears so. But if looked from Bible entirety context, no. It’s like telling people and elephant looks just like a python because one saw only the trunk, or a whip because of the tail. It’ll be real foolish for anyone to insists and lay claim to such an elephant, python, whip….

    Personally, prayerfully, believe the explanation of the verse is now clear.
    Whatsoever is bound on earth, is bound in heaven, loosed on earth is loosed in heaven. It describes the boundary of the authority. It can’t be in conflict with heaven.

    Thanks be to Christ.

Leave a Reply

 
