100%

100% Jesus

Assurance of salvation. Over and over again, folks have been citing from the bible that “one cannot never lose their salvation once they are

saved”. Then my point is, how do you know you are saved? By biblical defination, “that whoseoever believe on him (Jesus) shall not perish, but

have eternal life” Jn 3:16. In the same breath, it is also cited “Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also

believe, and tremble.” James 2:19. Interestingly, the following related verses is also cited in biblecc site.

Matthew 8:29 “What do you want with us, Son of God?” they shouted. “Have you come here to torture us before the appointed time?”
Mark 1:24 “What do you want with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are–the Holy One of God!”
Mark 5:7 He shouted at the top of his voice, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? Swear to God that you won’t torture

me!”
Luke 4:34 “Ha! What do you want with us, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who you are–the Holy One of God!”
Acts 19:15 [One day] the evil spirit answered them, “Jesus I know, and I know about Paul, but who are you?”

Salvation is by (1)faith and faith alone in Jesus Christ, and (2)followed by repentance, and a (3)growing hatreth for sin and moving away from

sin.

Put it simply, “I’m struggling with sin, and usually I succumb to it”. Does it mean I’m not saved?

Paul says
a. Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. 2 Cor 5:17
b. Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Matt 7:17

How do we understand 2 Cor 5:17? Could list down all possible understanding?
a. Once sinning, now stopped. (Cool, very generic and sounds like 100% perfection)
b. Once sinning, without and qualms, now very troubled. (Sounds like a change).
c. Once sinning, now struggling to change despite of failures (Good! Sounds like a change! A new creature!)

Point C sounds like a the “mermaid” trying to be a “landmaid”. We all know that story how in love with a man that she was willing to go through

witchery to lose her tail fin, and in it’s stead have legs to walk on land. Of course, it was a sad ending. However, was the mermaid a new

creature? She was. Once water, thence land. Did she struggle? Yes. Was it a sad ending? Yes. But we do not need to have a sad ending like that

fairy tale. God is victorious. He can give us victory in our life. We do not need to succumb to sin.

Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in

heaven. Matt 7:21. The key point of this verse is the latter “he that doeth the will of my Father”.

I may know Jesus, even the real Jesus, but does Jesus know me? How will Jesus know me? The answer is in the same verse Matt 7:21. He that doeth

the will of my Father! What other biblical verse supports this? My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: Jn 10:27

****************
SCENARIO #1
****************
I have 1,2,3 and in my church, I’m also taught that I need to do this, this and that. I’m also taught to pray to this this and that. I’m also

required to adore this this and that as well. Does that means I’m not putting 100% on Jesus and I’m not saved?

Let’s parallel compare above scenario from a real life scenario of a home who I see who had a little table which had Mary, earthly mother of

Jesus, Buddha, etc and all there. I asked why so? I’m told that I need all of them, or at least better to have more coverage than one. Is this

100% Jesus? or a fraction only? I’m afraid the Jesus that the person was taught about was not the real Jesus. Because the real Jesus if the

person knew will have no 2nd thoughts in tossing out the all the idols on that shelf because “You shall not worship them or serve them; for I,

the LORD your God, am a jealous God” (Exodus 20:4-5). Thou shalt not bow down to their gods, nor serve them, nor do after their works: but thou

shalt utterly overthrow them, and quite break down their images. Exodus 23:24. Leviticus 26:1 “‘Do not make idols or set up an image or a sacred

stone for yourselves, and do not place a carved stone in your land to bow down before it. I am the LORD your God.

****************
SCENARIO #2
****************
My grandma who is now in hospital in her evening years. Whenever we share Jesus to her, she will smile and gives me the impression of “No Thank

You.” However, hope against hope, at the last moment, says she believed in Jesus. Perhaps nobody even knows about it! There is no more time in

her life to show any evidence of her faith in Jesus. Is she saved? I don’t know. God knows. My only condolences is “He that believeth on him is

not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.” Jn

3:18

Bottom line was, you did what you could. Trust God for the rest. Salvation is of God. But I do pray and hope that my grandma will be receptive

to Jesus. Jesus is not a joke, he is serious.

But salvation is personal. A key verse which also justifies as a component for salvation is in Jn 3:3 Except a man be born again, he cannot see

the kingdom of God. 7 Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again.

****************
In Summary
****************
It appears that (1)Believe and (2) Born again (3) Repentance are all crucial evidences of being saved, of being a new creature. The dying thief

on the cross. Was he a new creature? Let’s compare the change of the thief.

Luke 23:32-43: 32 And there
were also two others, malefactors, led with him to be put to death. 33 And when
they were come to the place, which is called Calvary, there they crucified him, and
the malefactors, one on the right hand, and the other on the left. 34 Then said
Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do. And they parted his
raiment, and cast lots. 35 And the people stood beholding. And the rulers also with
them derided him, saying, He saved others; let him save himself, if he be Christ,
the chosen of God. 36 And the soldiers also mocked him, coming to him, and
offering him vinegar, 37 And saying, If thou be the king of the Jews, save thyself. 38
And a superscription also was written over him in letters of Greek, and Latin, and
Hebrew, THIS IS THE KING OF THE JEWS. 39 And one of the malefactors which
were hanged railed on him, saying, If thou be Christ, save thyself and us. 40 But
the other answering rebuked him, saying, Dost not thou fear God, seeing thou art
in the same condemnation? 41 And we indeed justly; for we receive the due reward
of our deeds: but this man hath done nothing amiss. 42 And he said unto Jesus,
Lord, remember me when thou comest into thy kingdom. 43 And Jesus said unto
him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in paradise.

What is malefactor? criminal or evil person. In those days, a thief is a ruthless murderer that will rob and kill.

What’s the situation?
1. Both thief are condemned and on the cross.
2. Both thief are dying for sure.
3. Thief 1 MOCKED and RAILED against Jesus.
4. Thief 2 INSTEAD, REBUKED thief 1, ADMITTED, CONFESSED, and TURN TO JESUS for salvation.

That was an immediate change on the cross thence. He is born again. A new creature. Interesting. 🙂

~ by ymsim on 2011/04/12.

Leave a Reply

 
