Early

Ho 5:15 – I will go and return to my place, till they acknowledge their offence, and seek my face: in their affliction they will seek me early.

There was a common saying which goes something like this, “If God never moves, the same yesterday, today, and forever, so who moved?” Of course that question refers to the person moved, not God. I read today in Hosea 5:15, the phrase “they will seek me early” struck me. The whole verse in context, God has indeed returned to his place. Why? He’s people have not acknowledged their offence. Interesting. As I read, it seems that while offence is there, it is the “acknowledgement of their offence” had turned God away. This turns me to 1Jo 1:9- If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Does that means we can keep sinning, and keep asking for forgiveness? Do you even put up a struggle in the first place? God knows our heart and nothing is hidden from him. The important thing is to come back to God and “seek God early”. What is early here? Time related?

The Hebrew word is “shaw-khar’ ” which means to seek, seek early or earnestly, look early or diligently for (Qal) to look for diligently, seek. So it probably meant here “they will seek me earnestly, diligently”.

Pastor Isaac Ong mentioned, “If we have not been punished, it means we are under God’s grace, it does not mean approval”. All over the bible it mentions and speaks of God’s wrath, and it is frightening.

Mt 27:46 And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

Jeremiah 32:37 Behold, I will gather them out of all countries, whither I have driven them in mine anger, and in my fury, and in great wrath; and I will bring them again unto this place, and I will cause them to dwell safely:

Seek me early.

Added: Over lunch, I considered the following. Hosea 5:15 is full of pointers.

1. acknowledge
2. seek
3. early (diligently, earnestly)

It appears there seem to be a natural course of events. A sincere person will naturally acknowledge the wrong. Then seek. To seek without acknowledgement will not be in truth, but appears to be ritualistic. How should the attitude of seek be? Of diligence and earnesty.

~ by ymsim on 2011/01/31.

Leave a Reply

 
