Who am I?

Who am I?

By the grace of God, I’ve completed reading through the bible in a year, maybe less. Nevertheless, that was the resolution I made back in 2010. Today, 28th Jan 2011, I’ll embark once again, reading through the bible again. Everytime, it brings back memories, and new discoveries. I hate to say I used to be a pretty hardcore gamer. Each time I replay the game, new discoveries, new experiences, new things entice me to rush through to complete the game ASAP so that I could start over again and re-discover and re-experience the joy of the game. I must say the experience with re-reading the bible is definately far more enriching experience than any gamings or books. This is God’s word, and everytime it is being read, we are putting God’s word into our mind, into our soul, and feeding our spirit. Some have bigger appetite, some smaller, it doesn’t matter as long as the spirit is being fed.

Genealogies, I’ve read thus far and to my memory, it exists at several spots (surely more) that is the beginning of New Testamant, Matthew 1, Luke 3, Ezra 2. While I have been explained why the difference in Matthew and Luke genealogy here.

It was the bible study in Ezra 2 that explained from Rev Isaac Ong why it is important to know our roots, and “Who we are”. Knowing who we are affects the way we talk, think, behave, live, activities involved in, principles, and the list goes on and on.

Who am I?
At least portions of the bible tells me (and a whole lot more)

  1. 1 Peter 2:9 – But ye [are] a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light:
  2. 1 Peter 1:16 – Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.
  3. Matthew 5:13 – Ye are the salt of the earth
  4. Matthew 5:14 – Ye are the light of the world.
  5. 1 Cor 6:17 – Be ye seperated (No it does not mean being a loner, but you know what it means by seperated. Just as a married man has chosen to be seperated from the rest of the women so to speak… taken :P)
  6. 1 Cor 6:11 – ye have been sanctified

Be ye holy; for I am holy
It’s not easy being a Christian, it is a life of discipline and seperation. It reminds me of how some people says they are born “like this or like that” so they can’t be change. They’d probably cite “a leopard can’t change it’s spots”, in fact the bible says so too! Jeremiah 13:23 Can the Ethiopian change his skin, or the leopard his spots? [then] may ye also do good, that are accustomed to do evil.

No, as a Christian, we are only sinners saved by grace. However, with the indwelling of the Holy Spirit, and by the cleansing through blood of Jesus, we are no longer who we are. It’s no longer I that liveth, but Christ that liveth in me. Not I, but Christ. This is the mark of a born again believer. I struggle with sins day to day. I can say I’m a very worldly person, short tempered, angry, jealous, scheming, fleshly, proud, and the list goes on and on. Do I struggle with the same? I’d be lying if I say no. By God’s grace, daily he giveth me more strength to overcome. Do I fail? Yes at times. I’m going to whine and tell others about it so others may find excuse in failing? NO. I have to keep encouraging others, and not whine. There is a difference between a struggle and willful submission to the desire. Flee from temptation! 2 Tim 2:22. Submit to God! James 4:7

So back to the question, who am I?
I am the redeemed of the LORD.
Therefore the redeemed of the LORD shall return, and come with singing unto Zion; and everlasting joy [shall be] upon their head: they shall obtain gladness and joy; [and] sorrow and mourning shall flee away. Isaiah 51:11

~ by ymsim on 2011/01/28.

Leave a Reply

 
