Touch me not

Praying while reading the bible or meditating in His words. Have you ever read the bible, yet concurrently asking questions and seeking at the same time? Sometimes we get the understanding whilst sometimes no? I felt like a two way communication with God when I meditate and when I read his words quietly. It felt like God opening up himself revealing his truths.

Today the word came “Touch me not”. It was the scene after Jesus death, Mary Magdeline met Jesus. I can imagine it to be kind of like “embracing” someone whom you dearly loved and missed. Yet, Jesus said in John 20:17 “Touch me not”.

What does the word “touch” in hebrew context means?
hap’-tom-ahee – to fasten one’s self to, adhere to, cling to.

Other translations:
NIV – Do not hold on to me
NLT – Don’t cling to me
NASB – Stop clinging to Me

My 1st impression when I read touch me not, I was surprised why Jesus forbid Mary touching him. No, it was the wrong interpretation. It appears that Mary was clinging tightly, embracing, perhaps to the point that Jesus could not move. Jesus had to tell Mary “… Touch me not (Do not cling onto me, do not hold on so tightly); for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and [to] my God, and your God.”

Jesus is still in his bodily form, however. He could only be at one place at any one time. But what a joy as he share the truth to us “for I am not yet ascended to my Father”. What does this means to me? It seems to be don’t cling to me now, but cling to me AFTER I am ascended to my Father. For thence, Jesus is OMNIPOTENT! OMNIPRESENT! OMNISCIENCE! Jesus will be everywhere! Cling onto Jesus! Do not let go!

Another verse comes to my mind which was shared to me during “Goodsoil evangelism training”. Mark 4:20—”But these are the ones sown on good ground, those who hear the word, accept [paradechomai] it…” “Accept” means to “receive with open arms,” “welcome,” or “embrace.”

This is exactly what Jesus wants us to do. Cling, embrace, welcome and never let go.

Thank you Lord for your word.

~ by ymsim on 2011/01/26.

Leave a Reply

 
