Jesus Cares

I have sang this hymn many times before, more often than not, usually at funerals. We sang this song on 9 Jan 2011 in Church Worship Service. The 3rd verse was so meaningful. It’s literally the author writing down his feelings and thoughts, which moved me.

Does Jesus care when I’ve tried and failed
To resist some temptation strong;
When for my deep grief there is no relief,
Though my tears flow all the night long?

This is the Jesus that does not need you to prove to him that you love him.
The Jesus that does not need you to do good works or any works at all to gain acceptance.
This is the Jesus that knows all your struggles and addictions.
This is the Jesus that will chide you yet lift you up once again when you have fallen and could not get up.

When the whole world scorns at you, despise you, forsakes you, ridicules you…
This is the Jesus that will tell you “If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before [it hated] you.”

Have you gone through any kind of addictions before? For a person who hasn’t, they’ll never understand, which is fine. They do not need to understand. I thank God he has graciously helped me overcome all of my addictions that I’ve poured out to him. Was it easy? No. It was like cold turkey. However, I’m constantly reminded from his word “My grace is sufficient for you”

To God be the glory! Amen.

DOES JESUS CARE?
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/d/o/doesjeca.htm

Words: Frank E. Graeff, 1901. Frank Graeff went through some ve­ry dif­fi­cult tri­als. The per­i­od be­fore writ­ing this song was one of great de­spond­en­cy, doubt and phys­ic­al pain. When he turned to God’s Word, 1 Peter 5:7 gave won­der­ful com­fort: “He cares for you.” Af­ter med­i­ta­ting on that truth, Graeff wrote these lyri­cs, with the re­sound­ing af­firm­a­tion in the cho­rus, “O yes, He cares…”

Music: J. Lin­coln Hall (MI­DI, score).

Does Jesus care when my heart is pained
Too deeply for mirth or song,
As the burdens press, and the cares distress
And the way grows weary and long?

(Refrain)
Oh yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary, the long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

Does Jesus care when my way is dark
With a nameless dread and fear?
As the daylight fades into deep night shades,
Does He care enough to be near?

Refrain

Does Jesus care when I’ve tried and failed
To resist some temptation strong;
When for my deep grief there is no relief,
Though my tears flow all the night long?

Refrain

Does Jesus care when I’ve said “goodbye”
To the dearest on earth to me,
And my sad heart aches till it nearly breaks,
Is it aught to Him? Does He see?

Refrain

~ by ymsim on 2011/01/10.

Leave a Reply

 
