I AM

I AM

gives thanks to the ever faithful I AM….
Saw this status update in FB from my friend. Each time the bible is related, fresh insights comes. I AM…..

This was I believe first stated when Moses encounter with God at the Burning Bush. Moses ask what name shall he present to the Pharoah and the people? “And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” (Exodus 3:14).

Do a search on how many I AM in New Testament that Jesus calls of himself. The first that comes to my mind is “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. ” (John 14:6).

Even in this single verse God reveals 3 things of himself through I AM.
I Am the way
I Am the truth
I Am the LIFE!

And even if one does not know or familiar with the bible, any words that goes with I AM reveals about God. Let’s try some negative words.

I Am a thief – Yes! Christ return will be likened to a thief in the night. NO! It does not mean being sneaky, but rather… NO MEN KNOWETH WHEN HE WILL COME.
“But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.” (2 Peter 3:10).

I AM hate – If God is love, then God must Hate. What does he hate? All things that is not love related. Just a little sample.
“These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him: A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief, A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.” (Proverbs 6:16-19).

I think the list just goes on and on. God’s name the “I AM” is just very thought provoking.

I AM glorified.
Jesus prayed “And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was. ” (John 17:5).

I’ll end today’s post with that. To God be the glory, great things he hath done.

Posted by Wordmobi

~ by ymsim on 2010/09/07.

Leave a Reply

 
