Impute

Isa 43:22-24
22But you have not called on me, O Jacob; but you have been weary of me, O Israel.  23You have not brought me the small cattle of your burnt offerings; neither have you honored me with your sacrifices. I have not caused you to serve with an offering, nor wearied you with incense.  24You have bought me no sweet cane with money, neither have you filled me with the fat of your sacrifices: but you have made me to serve with your sins, you have wearied me with your iniquities.

In today’s reading, this verse caught my especially caught my attention. Life Application Bible explains “Sin separates sinners from God. God however, does not want to be separated from his people, so he instituted the sacrificial system in which sins were symbolically transferred to animals and then destroyed. The people of Judah chose to ignore God’s provision for sins, and thus they were in danger of losing protection. Do you try to “go it on your own,” or do you accept God’s provision of forgiveness through Christ sacrifice?

This reminds me of a word I learn recently.. imputed. If we sin against somebody, we need to accept his terms and conditions. I dread it when I was younger, and offended my parents. No matter how much good I do, I cannot remove that offense. The only way to remove that offense and by terms and conditions that my parents will not bring up that offense again is by my parents terms and conditions. Is this not true as well in our relationship with God? All of us have offended God in some way or another. Nothing good I can do, or to precise… nothing we can do to remove that offense we have committed before God. The only way to remove that offense was to adhere to God’s own terms and conditions. Before Jesus, it was through the sacrificial system instituted by God, and this is where the sins of men were imputed onto the sacrificial lamb, and it will be killed.

However, God provided the ultimate sacrifice. The lamb of God himself, Jesus. God imputed the sins of the world on Jesus.
For he has made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him. (2 Cor 5:21)
Jesus himself declares “Jesus said to him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man comes to the Father, but by me. (John 14:6)” God have shown us the way to him as always, even in times of ancient.

Imputed. Interesting. Thank God for his provision of the sacrificial lamb of God where we are made righteous before God, holy and acceptable through Jesus, our Lord and Savior.

im·pute
–verb (used with object), -put·ed, -put·ing.
1.to attribute or ascribe: The children imputed magical powers to the old woman.
2.to attribute or ascribe (something discreditable), as to a person.
3.Law . to ascribe to or charge (a person) with an act or quality because of the conduct of another over whom one has control or for whose acts or conduct one is responsible.
4.Theology . to attribute (righteousness, guilt, etc.) to a person or persons vicariously; ascribe as derived from another.
5.Obsolete . to charge (a person) with fault.

at·trib·ute
–verb (used with object)
1.to regard as resulting from a specified cause; consider as caused by something indicated (usually fol. by to ): She attributed his bad temper to ill health.
2.to consider as a quality or characteristic of the person, thing, group, etc., indicated: He attributed intelligence to his colleagues.
3.to consider as made by the one indicated, esp. with strong evidence but in the absence of conclusive proof: to attribute a painting to an artist.
4.to regard as produced by or originating in the time, period, place, etc., indicated; credit; assign: to attribute a work to a particular period; to attribute a discovery to a particular country.

~ by ymsim on 2010/08/28.

Leave a Reply

 
