Hinderance

After sending a letter to my friend, I thought of a theme to post into my online diary. Whilst my initial theme was to encourage, and to find out what hindered… in actual fact, the entire theme was about hinderances. What is hindering our relationship with Christ? I recalled something I read in Daniel. That’s why reading through the bible is important… we are putting contents into our mind. It will be used by the Spirit by recollection when needed.)

Daniel, in his book, recorded for us how he was distressed. Apparently, an angel who was trying to reach him was being hindered by the devil! (Lest anyone thinks the devil is a whimp). In Daniel 10:12-13
12 Then said he unto me, Fear not, Daniel: for from the first day that thou didst set thine heart to understand, and to chasten thyself before thy God, thy words were heard, and I am come for thy words. 13 But the prince of the kingdom of Persia (reference to the devil, inserted by me) withstood me one and twenty days: but, lo, Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me; and I remained there with the kings of Persia.

Yes, the angel of God was hindered.

Just curious, is there anything that is hindering your coming to Jesus Christ?

I’ve asked the same question to my father in law before. For him, it was the following:
1. Unable to understand the bible – Ans: It gets better overtime, not overnight.
2. Unable to serve in church – Ans: Services comes in many forms. Even by simple offering, is serving.
3. He is already very old 80+ and not able to do anything for Christ. – Ans: He is doing lots now! By just living for Christ, reading the bible, prayer, etc is already for Christ!
4. Somemore…  cannot remember.

Nevertheless, we clarified his concerns (Pastor and several folks), now he has taken his step of faith, trust in Jesus, and attending catechism class, and they (husband and wife) both have the desire to be baptised! Praise God!

However, the bottom line was, he wanted to, but these hindered him. He had the desire. I like to refer that as calling of God. I always believe that knowing Christ does not equate to having a relationship. An intimate relationship everyday, trusting Jesus. Communion daily.
For example, I may know a lady, but that does not mean I have a relationship with her. Even more so having an intimate relationship! Nor daily communion. Or even entrust her with my life… sorry to say that.

For myself, I’ve always wanted to be in Jesus, in fact, FULL TIME even. When I was a young child (I grew up in church), I aspired to be in the ministry! However as I grew older, and more exposed to the world, the world took over. Gradually, my life and behaviour kept me away from God. But I thank God how he, in a miracously way, gradually convicted each aspect of my life as I gave them up for his sake. It was after a long time, I wished I had not been stubborn and gave up my lifestyle to Christ earlier.

I recalled in our last meetup, you indicated that you want to be with a church, to know about Jesus, that is a good start!

How about this? There are many good online sites with bible usage, or if you have one, read it even! To help you along, I have attached a simple bible course which is from my church. It is a bible correspondence course. I have personally benefitted from it. I’ve completed once with a church friend. It is now been done by my son, and my maids.
Go through it, feel free to use online bible to fill in the blanks and email back to me. It will greatly help you to understand the bible more, and strengthen your faith in Christ.

In fact, the bible encourage us to study, I tend to agree not just the bible alone, but as much as possible in a pactical sense.
2 Timothy 2:15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.
Hosea 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge,

Interestingly, many times in the bible, the reference of “Don’t you know?” was referred to many times. Such as to cite a few
Matthew 19:4 “.. Have ye not read, .. ”
Matthew 12:5 “Or have ye not read in the law….”
Isaiah 40:21 Have ye not known? have ye not heard? hath it not been told you from the beginning? have ye not understood from the foundations of the earth?
Isaiah 40:28 Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard, that the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary? there is no searching of his understanding.

I frequently use this site for biblereading and I recommend KJV version, which the course and my church uses too.
http://www.biblegateway.com/
Other sites I recommend to know about Jesus, I read them myself too.
www.lifebpc.com
http://www.gotquestions.org/

~ by ymsim on 2010/07/08.

Leave a Reply

 
