Dead bury the dead

Matthew 8
21And another of his disciples said unto him, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.
22But Jesus said unto him, Follow me; and let the dead bury their dead.

Luke 9
59And he said unto another, Follow me. But he said, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.
60Jesus said unto him, Let the dead bury their dead: but go thou and preach the kingdom of God.

“let the dead bury their dead”

What does this phrase means when Jesus said that? It is important to have the context in place. Otherwise, any word or phrases can be pulled out of context. I recalled somebody told me it can be paraphrased in this manner.

“let the spiritually dead bury their physically dead”

Which would probably make sense if we look into the Jewish customs thence (not sure now) as these were all spoken and shared with me. Jewish traditions, in 24hs, the dead person has to be buried, mourn for 7 days.

So in above context, that person speaking to Jesus is not ready to follow.
An excuse. It is obvious he’s father is not dead but still alive. In other words, the sentence can be rephrase directly as
“suffer me first to go and bury my father.“
“let me wait till my living father is dead, buried, then I’ll follow you.”

This is quite interesting, which is still applicable in today’s context. How often have we heard of such similar reasons?

I’ll follow Jesus/serve in Church, etc when
1. I retire
2. My kids are grown up
3. When I make my first million
4. When I have more free time
5. When I have “_________________” (Fill in the blanks)

While the thought to follow later itself may sounds and even seems theoretically correct. What God wants is NOW.

This reminds me of the account in Luke 13, where the folks were finding reasons for people killed in disaster. Jesus response was a simple “v5 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.”

The time is NOW.

~ by ymsim on 2010/06/23.

Leave a Reply

 
