Dinner

This is interesting. 6th June 2010,  we had a fantastic dinner with D and M. There is so much to talk about that we gradually moved from worldly topics into wholesome topics.

I shared my testimony on how I was brought up in a Christian family, yet living apart from a Christian life. Yet this is so common.

M shared that her dad too is also brought up in a Christian family, but not in Christ, smoker and all. I am guilty of it too. There are many indicators that probably shows if anyone is in Christ. But we are reminded not to judge lest we be judge. Matt 7:1 “Judge not, that ye be not judged.”

It is very clear to me now that I am probably never in Christ for my last 33 odd years. Why?

1. My life clearly does not show it.

2. I’m a chronic smoker (Even non-Christian[NC])

3. I’m a chronic drinker (Even NC don’t)

4. I’m a chronic gamer

5. I don’t read the bible

6. I don’t pray

7. I cuss and swear all the time

8. I cheat

9. I lie

10. I covet

11. I steal

12. I’m angry

13. I’m bad tempered

14. I don’t like Christians

15. I’d rather game than spend time with God

16. Self centered

17. And the list goes on and on. Lust of eyes, flesh, pride of life, etc etc…

So why did I thought I was (at least when I was younger)?

1. I enjoyed listening to the Bible

2. I enjoyed serving in Church

3. I enjoyed in fellowship group

4. I enjoyed listening to messages

5. I enjoyed activities

6. When the church asks who wants to serve, I wanted.

Ironically, yet I was baptised because I believed in Jesus.

Or was I already in Christ? And God was starting the work in me? I don’t know. All I know now is I’m glad Jesus has revealed himself to me.

I’m glad all those knowledge that I have been taught in the pass, is now useful to me. As the bible says “My word will never return void” Isa 55:11

Praise the Lord! it is now no longer void to me. I want to share the word. I may have wasted a decade of my life, I thank God the earlier decade, God’s word foundation had been laid, before the rest of the trash settled in. Deep in my heart, I have been convicted, but I had been struggling with God. Disobedience.

As I look back, it was very obvious I was probably never in Christ. Let me dissect and analyse the scenarios as listed above.

1. I enjoyed listening to the Bible –

>> You enjoyed, but you don’t read yourself to find out more. It was more mechanical, taught to do, than a personal desire. It was interesting. No growth. Plain knowledge

only.

2. I enjoyed serving in Church

>> Because you were told it is good. Anybody will feel good when doing good. Right? Yes!

3. I enjoyed in fellowship group

>> You enjoyed the company. Not a bad thing.

4. I enjoyed listening to messages

>> Many people enjoy listening. I learnt a new term. Seminar Junkies.

5. I enjoyed activities

>> Who doesn’t? Friends!

6. When the church asks who wants to serve, I wanted.

>> For all the reason given above.

My current status?

1. My life clearly show that I’m active in Christ.

2. I’m NOT a smoker

3. I’m NOT a drinker

4. I’m NOT a gamer

5. I DESIRE TO and DO READ the bible

6. I DESIRE and DO pray

7. I DON’T cuss and swear.

8. I DON’T cheat, and if ever I felt so guilty that I had to confess immediately to God.

9. I DON’T lie, and if ever I felt so guilty that I had to confess immediately to God.

10. I DON’T covet, yet it’s a struggle. I know God is working in me.

11. I DON’t steal. Not even movies, software, etc. I know God is working in me.

12. I’m MUCH LESS angry. God is working in me.

13. I’m MUCH LESS bad tempered. God is working in me.

14. I like Christians. They are my brethren.

15. I’d rather SPEND TIME with God than Gaming.

16. Self centered no more, but JOY!

17. And the list goes on and on, as God is working through me.

No way can I say I’m a good man. I’m just a wretched person, saved by Jesus. Convicted, humbled.

It is a no wonder the apostle Paul warns “work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God

which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” Phil 2:12-13

I like Wang Ming Tao spiritual thermometer, it’s a good temperature guide.
https://ymsim.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/spiritual-thermometer-by-wang-ming-tao/

~ by ymsim on 2010/06/09.

Leave a Reply

 
