Obedience and Faith

++++++++++++++++++
Obedience
++++++++++++++++++
“But what think ye? A certain man had two sons; and he came to the first, and said, Son, go work to day in my vineyard. He answered and said, I will not: but afterward he repented, and went. And he came to the second, and said likewise. And he answered and said, I go, sir: and went not. Whether of them twain did the will of his father? They say unto him, The first. Jesus saith unto them, Verily I say unto you, That the publicans and the harlots go into the kingdom of God before you. For John came unto you in the way of righteousness, and ye believed him not: but the publicans and the harlots believed him: and ye, when ye had seen it, repented not afterward, that ye might believe him.” (Matthew 21:28-32).

++++++++++++++++++
Faith
++++++++++++++++++
“Another parable put he forth unto them, saying, The kingdom of heaven is like to a grain of mustard seed, which a man took, and sowed in his field: Which indeed is the least of all seeds: but when it is grown, it is the greatest among herbs, and becometh a tree, so that the birds of the air come and lodge in the branches thereof.” (Matthew 13:31-32)

I believe every single word of God means literally. Well, maybe not all where it says gouge out my eyes and cut off the arm. But I certainly do believe it means what it says. My problem is disbelieve and disobedience. Either of these will stunt the growth in Christ. Personally, I don’t understand how someone who is habitually late for Sunday worship service, could be grinning and smiling all the way in. I don’t understand as well how Christian parents cannot be in control of their children.

Yet in a personal sense, in the spirit of MYOB aka Mind Your Own Business, as stated in Luk 13:3 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish. Yes, the same thing likewise will happen to myself if I don’t take heed of myself.

Obedience. Can anybody be as obedient as Jesus? As a silent lamb being led to the cross? I no I can’t. I’d rather say I can’t, they claim I can, whilst later I can’t.
Each of growth in faith and obedience perhaps be independent of each other, yet essentially closely knitted. Why? One needs faith to know God. In Hebrews 11, it clearly shows how faith and obedience works hand in hand.

If I can give an analogy somebody asks you to sit on a chair. U sit because one obey, yet also have the faith that that somebody knows the chair is safe to sit.
Can one not have faith, yet obey and sat? Yes.
One one not obey, but have faith and sat? No.
In this sense, obedience and faith works hand in hand.

Many times I have a quiet still voice that tells me, your God is nothing. It’s an empty faith. How should I react? Do I believe in Jesus? Yes! Have doubt? Sometimes. šŸ˜› will you obey? Yes! That settles it! The bible says I need to believe in Jesus. Faith or no Faith, I need to obey. Be obedience I believe. Do I have the great faith yet? No. But I obeyed and believe. Rom 4:3 For what saith the scripture? Abraham believed God, and it was counted unto him for righteousness.

My faith now could be as small as a masturd seed. When being worked out by God, it’s going to grow to become one of the biggest tree in the field.

Question is, will I let God work out?

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

~ by ymsim on 2010/06/07.

Leave a Reply

 
