Not I but Christ

Self Centered or Christ Centered? It’s so easy to be shifted away from a Christ Centered life. Even legitimates can become a distraction such as our family. We used to talk about Work Life balance, Family life balance, etc. I’d say integration. It is interesting how this integration is mentioned in the bible. It’s not even about setting apart time, but rather LIVING IT! We are being attacked by the devil daily with all kinds of distractions, and causing us to misbehave, etc. Only Christ centered life, if only.

“And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.” (Deut 11:19)

I can help but have “rush” over my skin, goose pimples and perhaps emotional when I read and sing the lyrics. Guilt. Conviction.
Everyday it’s about my wife, my children, my family, me, Christ last. God Forbid. Christ first in all areas.

NOT I, but Christ
by Mrs. A. A. Whiddington (19th Century)

1 NOT I, but Christ, be honoured, loved, exalted;
Not I, but Christ, be seen, be known, be heard;
Not I, but Christ, in every look and action;
Not I, but Christ, in every thought and word.

2 Not I, but Christ, to gently soothe in sorrow;
Not I, but Christ, to wipe the falling tear;
Not I, but Christ, to lift the weary burden;
Not I, but Christ, to hush away all fear.

3 Not I, but Christ, in lowly, silent labour;
Not I, but Christ, in humble, earnest toil;
Christ, only Christ! no show, no ostentation;
Christ, none but Christ, the gatherer of the spoil.

4 Christ, only Christ, ere long will fill my vision;
Glory excelling, soon, full soon, I’ll see —
Christ, only Christ, my every wish fulfilling —
Christ, only Christ, my All in all to be.

To know Jesus Christ and to make Him known.

~ by ymsim on 2010/05/10.

3 Responses to “Not I but Christ”

  1. Thanks for your post… I enjoyed your post!
    God bless you!

  2. The song was good. I could definitely feel the Spirit’s presence reading it. I can tell why you feel it too.

  3. Thanks much. It was just what God had put on my heart. more of Him, less of me, I should paste it on my forehead.

Leave a Reply

 
