Worst Words To Say At Work

Channel NewsAsia – Worst Words To Say At Work – channelnewsasia.com.

Interesting. I thought I saw this sometime back, and wanted to refer to it again, but could not find it. Thank God, it was “re-posted” in my CNA mail.

The words are “Try, Whatever, Maybe, I don’t know, I’ll get back to you, If, Yes But, I Guess, We’ll see”.

I won’t say all these words are evil, some are necessary evil. How often we use the same words to our children too? Such as try, I don’t know? etc. Not all are evil, while some are. It is evil when the motive and objective is wrong. Are you saying out of love, good motive and with good follow up action? Or pure shirking of responsibility?

It may be known as the “worst words to say at work”, I’d say it’s the worst words to say anywhere, especially even at home and more so for us to each other in Christ. Or even GOD! Try putting the “Yeah, whatever” attitude to God. Flip it around, how would you like the whatever attitude towards me??!? I hate that. Yet so often, we are brought up in this sin sick world that these are the “politically” correct answers. The “you know”, neither right or wrong answers.

What does the bible says about this? Matt 5:37 “But let your communication be, Yea, yea; Nay, nay: for whatsoever is more than these cometh of evil.”

It is very difficult to make a decision when one asks a question and the response comes back as “Try. Whatever. Maybe. I don’t know” etc. I have personally felt it. My personal experience felt was of rejection, unwanted, you are on your own, I’m not going to support you. Yes. These are genuine feelings that I felt when someone says these to me.

I know I’m guilty of these too. I’d rather have an honest answer out of love, and settle on the differences and agree, than to live with disagreement.

Whatever

~ by ymsim on 2010/05/03.

Leave a Reply

 
