Christian, Disciple, either or both?

Instances of the following search string in Strong’s Concordance of the Bible.

Christian* = 3
http://www.biblestudytools.com/search/?q=christian*&c=&t=kjv&ps=10&s=Bibles

Believer* = 2
http://www.biblestudytools.com/search/?q=Believer*&c=&t=kjv&ps=10&s=Bibles

Follower* = 8
http://www.biblestudytools.com/search/?q=follower*&c=&t=kjv&ps=10&s=Bibles

Disciple* = 256
http://www.biblestudytools.com/search/?q=disciple*&c=&t=kjv&ps=10&s=Bibles

Can a person reveived Salvation, claims to be a Christian, and not a disciple?
Can someone who is a disciple, following the teachings, and not be a Christian?
etc etc etc

And the thoughts goes along that line. I personally feel, it is not possible for someone to be saved, A christian, and not a disciple, vice-versa. More interestingly, the words Christian/s is only mentioned 3 times in the bible. Disciple is used 256 times!

Christian
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/christian
–adjective
1.of, pertaining to, or derived from Jesus Christ or His teachings: a Christian faith.
2.of, pertaining to, believing in, or belonging to the religion based on the teachings of Jesus Christ: Spain is a Christian country.
3.of or pertaining to Christians: many Christian deaths in the Crusades.
4.exhibiting a spirit proper to a follower of Jesus Christ; Christlike: She displayed true Christian charity.
5.decent; respectable: They gave him a good Christian burial.
6.human; not brutal; humane: Such behavior isn’t Christian.
–noun
7.a person who believes in Jesus Christ; adherent of Christianity.
8.a person who exemplifies in his or her life the teachings of Christ: He died like a true Christian.
9.a member of any of certain Protestant churches, as the Disciples of Christ and the Plymouth Brethren.
10.the hero of Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress.
11.a male given name.

Disciple
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/disciple
–noun
1.Religion.
a.one of the 12 personal followers of Christ.
b.one of the 70 followers sent forth by Christ. Luke 10:1.
c.any other professed follower of Christ in His lifetime.
2.any follower of Christ.
3.(initial capital letter) a member of the Disciples of Christ.
4.a person who is a pupil or an adherent of the doctrines of another; follower: a disciple of Freud.
–verb (used with object)
5.Archaic. to convert into a disciple.
6.Obsolete. to teach; train.

Christian | Disciple
NO | NO ~ Non believer, Non follower
YES | NO ~ Believer, Non Follower
NO | YES ~ Non believer, Follower (religious guy, Jesus days of Pharasees Sadducees), Relying on Works to be accepted. No/almost absent of Personal Relation w Jesus.
YES | YES ~ The Christian Disciple Jesus describes in the Bible.

Of course we can debate surely the word disciple will arise more than Christian because the whole 4 gospel and the Acts are largely revolving around Jesus and his chosen disciples. However, the word disciple used in the bible refers not just to the twelve, but also all followers of Jesus interchangeably.

Isaiah 8:16 KJV Bind up the testimony, seal the law among my disciples.
~ Isaiah was way before Jesus arrival as the Messiah on earth, disciples? Believer and follower of the true God.

Matthew 8:21 KJV – And another of his disciples said unto him, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.
~ Surely, this is not spoken by Jesus 12 disciples, a follower of Jesus.

Matthew 16:24 KJV
Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.
~ If any man will come after me… any man… take up his cross and follow me.

I think the point here is very clear, Christian even as defined in the dictionary is a follower of Christ.
One cannot believe in Jesus and not submit to Jesus. Even the devils believe in Jesus, but they do not follow Jesus. Instead the devils flee from him, walk not with Jesus. Is our life similar to the Devil or the Follower?
Devil who just believe and do not submit?
Or the followers who believe and submit?

I’m not implying that one needs more than believe in Jesus to be saved. No. One only need to believe in Jesus all the way! Jn 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

James 2:17-20 (KJV)
[17] Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. [18] Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: show me thy faith without thy works, and I will show thee my faith by my works. [19] Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble. [20] But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead?

Believing in Jesus is Salvation. Maintain that believe throughout life, mature and to be more like Christ.
Whatever life you have left, repent, be baptised, and live for Christ forever more.

One cannot be believing and have no interest in
1. reading the bible.
2. prayer
3. fellowship with fellow brethren in Christ
etc

This is just like saying I love my partner and have no plan to
1. marry
2. live a life with
3. no time to talk to
4. no time to spend with
6. etc

All the way my Saviour leads me, what have I to ask beside?
The lyrics of this hymn from Fanny Crosby is so true.
http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/a/l/t/altheway.htm

ALL THE WAY MY SAVIOUR LEADS ME, Who through life has been guide. Through life, not part, not start, but throughout our life, our guide.
All the way my saviour leads. Not part, but all the way.
How about the dying thief on the cross? Whatever remained in his life on the cross, he believed in Jesus and submitted to him.

All the way my Savior leads me;
What have I to ask beside?
Can I doubt His tender mercy,
Who through life has been my Guide?
Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort,
Here by faith in Him to dwell!
For I know, whate’er befall me,
Jesus doeth all things well;
For I know, whate’er befall me,
Jesus doeth all things well.

All the way my Savior leads me,
Cheers each winding path I tread;
Gives me grace for every trial,
Feeds me with the living Bread.
Though my weary steps may falter,
And my soul athirst may be,
Gushing from the Rock before me,
Lo! A spring of joy I see;
Gushing from the Rock before me,
Lo! A spring of joy I see.

All the way my Savior leads me
O the fullness of His love!
Perfect rest to me is promised
In my Father’s house above.
When my spirit, clothed immortal,
Wings its flight to realms of day
This my song through endless ages—
Jesus led me all the way;
This my song through endless ages—
Jesus led me all the way.

God help us!

~ by ymsim on 2010/03/24.

One Response to “Christian, Disciple, either or both?”

  1. […] 03.24 Christian, Disciple, either or both? […]

Leave a Reply

 
