Are Catholics Christian?

Are Catholics Christian?

Let’s define in the most simplest term what is a Christian,
A person who believes in Jesus, that Jesus is Christ and Lord, Saviour of our soul, and will follow all his teachings, repent, baptize, read and practice his words. Nothing more, nothing less.

In my simple mind, and a prayerful heart to go forth and seek the truth. Did a little google on “will catholics go to heaven”

Found some interesting links:
http://www.jesus-is-lord.com/cath.htm
http://www.davidmacd.com/catholic/are_catholics_christian.htm
http://en.allexperts.com/q/Catholics-955/catholics-christians.htm
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Do_Protestants_believe_that_Catholics_will_go_to_heaven
http://www.landoverbaptist.org/sermons/catholics.html

There are so much debates these days on different Christian denominations, debates on Bible versions. Why? Are these the works of the devil? Maybe, I do not know. After all, the devil one of the many objectives is to draw as many of us away from God as possible. Why not ask how come we have so many religions and believes to start with? Ok, we may have gotten out of scope here. Let’s just stick to Christian vs Catholics.

I’m not here to write a thesis on these 2 major groups, but rather it’s a note on my observations and readings with an open mind and a prayerful heart.

In my younger days, I attended 2 churches. One of them was the Roman Catholic Church with my aunt sometimes, not always. There are many procedures, and proceedings. Peculiar dressing. Peculiar prayers. Peculiar responses. Peculiar statues. I recall one of them was a statue of an Angel stabbing a serpent.
Each time we enter the church, there is a little pot of water, which my aunt calls it holy water, she will dab and put it on her as a symbol of a cross on her forehead, heart, followed by her 2 shoulders in the shape of a cross. Reminds me of some Hindu behavior where they dab some color ink on their forehead. Being young I did likewise. Before seating down in the Church, she will curtsy, and I’d do likewise. Whole lot of proceedings and procedures throughout the mass (they call it a mass, not a service or a worship service).

They have a prayer like “Hail Mary full of grace… let me google more on the..”.Hail Mary, full of grace.
The Lord is with thee.
Blessed art thou amongst women,
and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God,
pray for us sinners,
now and at the hour of our death.

Amen.

Hmmmm —> Who intercedes for us? Mary or Jesus? Jesus.
Yes, Mary was indeed the chosen lady to be the Mother of Christ. That was her role, and that’s it. Sorry, no offence but this is a fact, what I was told, what I read, what my fellow brethren in likewise manner agrees.
“Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.” Romans 8:34. in no part of the bible does it ever mention about Mary’s role of intercession.
“Jesus saith unto him, Thou hast said: nevertheless I say unto you, Hereafter shall ye see the Son of man sitting on the right hand of power, and coming in the clouds of heaven”. Matthew 26:64

“I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also”. John 14:1-3

“For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels, and then he shall reward every man according to his works”. Matthew 16:27

“And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be”. Revelation 22:12

“And when he had spoken these things, while they beheld, he was taken up; and a cloud received him out of their sight. And while they (the disciples) looked stedfastly toward heaven as he went up, behold, two men stood by them in white apparel. Which also said, Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven? this same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen him go into heaven”. Acts 1:9-11

“For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first”. 1.Thessalomans 4:16

Rosary – An interesting little necklace like accept it is not worn around the neck, but to be held when reciting a prayer, but it sounded more like a chant to me, yes, even back then when I was a small boy.
Go google on the rosary prayer, see to whom the prayer is directed to. The number of “Hail Mary” far exceeds Jesus. I wonder whom should we be hailing more? for me? Jesus. He died for my sins, rose again, and now exists in heaven, interceding for us daily, and will one fine day return to us and bring us back with him to heaven. YES! And Mary his mother too with him physically.

I do not want to make this a long post. I started with nothing more, nothing less. I know there are many Catholics out there. Just because many people are doing it, that does not make the wrong right. That’s just like saying since everybody is stealing, thus it is right to steal. Nay.

I’ll end my diary with a warning from God.

Revelation 22:18-9
“For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall addunto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and [from] the things which are written in this book..”

As far as I am concern, the bible says it, I believe it, That’s it. Nothing more, Nothing less.
By the way, I have many lovely Catholics friends, they are splendid! So are my Muslims, Buddhists, Atheist, Anti-Christ, etc… all are good people! Except Spiritual Directions and Beliefs.

~ by ymsim on 2009/12/25.

2 Responses to “Are Catholics Christian?”

  1. Talk about my aunt, she is a lovely lady. Every year without fail she will get presents for all of us, the children and all. Lovely lady, patient and kind. Annual Christmas gathering is always arranged by her. Without fail. Thank God for my aunt.

  2. This probably too much of a sweeping statement or a question. I believe there are Catholics who will be born again Christian, just like some other people from other religions.

    When that happens, surely he will move out from a Catholic Church as that person will not be comfortable with the teachings, behavour and the practices.

    Let the Holy Spirit guide. Let God be right and I be wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
