RPM of the Harddrive Does Matter

Thanks to my colleague, my IBM X30 P3 with 256mb RAM got a new live.
I upgraded its 30GB 4300 RPM Drive to a 40GB 5400RPM drive that I ripped from my previous IBM T41. Goooosh! It was Blazing Fast!

Never did I realised the RPM of the HD could make such a BIG DIFFERENCE!
Am SOLD! I am now happily using my IBM X30 with the 40GB 5.4K RPM HD.

Since I recently bought a Lenovo Thinkpad T61, makes me wonder what is the HD make short of dismantling out the HD to take a good look at the Sticker.

http://veaca.com/2009/03/how-to-find-out-the-rpm-of-the-hard-drive.html

Above site has a good guide to how to identify the HD Specs.

I read somewhere else, no special tool needed. All you need to do is

  1. Start-> Program->Accessories->System Tools> System Information
  2. Locate Storage->Disks
  3. Locate Model Info
  4. Google for it!

There, here’s the specs for my IBM X30 HD.

SYSTEM INFORMATION

Hitachi Travelstar 5k80 40gb

~ by ymsim on 2009/04/04.

One Response to “RPM of the Harddrive Does Matter”

  1. http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-58299.html
    IBM X30 Specs – Max 1GB RAM
    Uses PC133 3.3V 144 pin SoDIMM memory, no support for parity/ECC
    Total of 2 memory slot, 1 slot prepopulated with either 64MB or 128MB depending on model
    Supports up to two 512 MB SDRAM SO DIMMs
    Supports maximum memory up to 1GB

Leave a Reply

 
